News Details

Tuluparba - 2011

Tulukoota Kuwait celebrated its 11th Tuluparba on Friday, 4th November 2011 at American International School Hawally. The highlight of this year Program was Tulu Drama” Ajjigerla ijji” written by Harish Padubidri, directed by Ronald D’souza.

The program began around 5:00pm, with welcome dance by Anusha Vaishnavi & Jolita Roshni; this was later followed by a grand souvenir release by the Managing Committee and Advisory committee member. Vice President Ramesh Kidiyoor welcomed the audience. Also, Gulf Voice of Mangalore – Gladys Lorenha, Laveen Prafulla, & Prakash Shetty enthralled the audience with Konkani, Hindi & Kannada songs. Visiting artist Dinesh Attavar won great appreciation for his charismatic and beautiful performance on the much hit Aaptamitra song “Ra – Ra’.

During the felicitations program Ex-presidents of Tulukoota Kuwait were honored by Chief Guest of the program HE Satish C. Mehta Indian ambassador to Kuwait for their support and contribution during the past 11 years journey of the Koota. It was a moment of great pride to see the felicitations of Ex presidents Sudhakar Shetty, Vivek Rao, Elias Sanctis, Chandrahasa Shetty, Satishchandra Shetty, AK Ravindra. Committee members Shalini Alva, Satyanarayana, Rekha Sachu, Govind Babu Belchada & Nasir were honored for their outstanding contribution to the Koota.

The felicitation ceremony also honored the Kidney Dialysis Project Donors who had contributed towards raising funds for the second dialysis machine donated to SCS Hospital Managlore. The donors for the second dialysis machine at SCS hospital honored were: Satishchandra Shetty, Leelavati Alva, Dayananda Pai, Jayakar Shetty, Pius Dias & Joe Pereira. Sponsors felicitated during the program included: Gold sponsors-Oriental Restaurnat, Diva Ladies Salon, Plama Developers Ltd, UAE Xchange, Silver Sponsors included : Ibrahim Pinto,Shettys Group of stores, Commercial Bank, Al Ahleia Insurance, TVS cargo, Gulf ready mix, Napesco, Yiaco Apollo.

Merit Scholarship was awarded to Simona Valerie D’souza, Floyd James Sequeira, Melisha Michael D’souza, Manisha K Rai. Certificate of appreciation was awarded to Aishwarya Prabhakar Gatty, Joynel Pinto, Clive Rahul Misquith, Deandra Janice D’souza for their highest scores in Xth & XIIth std accordingly.

Visiting artist Dinesh Attavar was felicitated by Tulukoota Kuwait President Swarna Shetty & Vice President Ramesh Kidiyoor. Also, other local artists were felicitated during the event.

The love for Tulu language could be clearly seen as the auditorium was fully packed with audience. Crowd of nearly 1200 gathered at American International School auditorium was completely entertained as the Tulu Drama” Ajjigerla ijji” began. The one of its kind, uniquely directed `Ajjigerla ijji', was perfectly balanced with comedy, seriousness, social message, and entertainment. Performances of seasoned drama artist Dinesh Attavar & Roopashri was excellently supported by local drama artists – Janet D’souza, Chandrahasa Shetty, Purandar Manchi, Govinda Babu, Nasir, Suresh Shyam Rao, Satish Acharya, Manoj Poojary, Rohit Narayan, Mahesha Poojari, Satish Saldanha, Sanmathi Menda & Sanath Shetty. The local drama team won great applause for their performance.

The program came to an end –with vote of thanks proposed by General Secretary Harish Bhandary.